Northern Leagues United Pen Pics #11

Skippering the Northern League Fans’ team is Whitley Bay fan Adam Taylor-Christensen, expertly captured by Steven White in his favourite training ground pose – “I’m a keeper. I don’t do shuttles or ball work.” When he’s not on a Northern League touchline, Adam’s busy on twitter finding reasons not to get a Whitley Bay tattoo. Adam’s gloves on the 9th will be provided by Carl King, Whitley Bay goalkeeping coach before his recent move to Blyth Spartans.

Position: Goalkeeper.

Teams played for: Whitley Bay U14s, U15s, U16s and U18s. Trials with Watford, Coventry City and Dundee United. Whitley Bay Red House.

Career highlight:
Keeping a clean sheet for Dundee United Reserves against Kilmarnock at Tannadice. It was a bit of a drop from there to Churchill Playing Fields, especially as my Sunday League side didn’t win a single game in my first season. I’ve still got the tracksuit Dundee United gave me after I failed my medical, though it wasn’t much of a consolation prize.

Player you’ve modelled your game on: Peter Schmeichel was always my hero. Being half Danish (and loving bacon) I always felt closer to him than other keepers. I’ve also been known to boss my defences around just like he used to.

One of the co-founders of the campaign group Utd for Newcastle, Kevin Moore is a youth football coach who played for Newcastle Blue Star before rediscovering the delights of doner meat and beer. He’s also on twitter here. Thanks once again to Steven White for the photo.

Positions: As a youngster I was a lethal forward playing for Newcastle Blue Star. Unfortunately with kebabs and age I am now more of am attacking midfielder. Still like to float around Ben Arfa style.

Teams played for: Was a junior at NUFC the age of 15 and then signed for Newcastle Blue Star until I was 21. Currently looking for a Northern League team to get my fitness back.

Career highlight: Three highlights so far have to be playing at St James’ Park and scoring at the Gallowgate End, representing NUFC at youth level and playing in the FA Cup with Newcastle Blue Star.

Player you’ve modelled your game on: As a kid I always looked up to Alan Shearer (who wouldn’t) but I’d say I am more like a Robert Lee these days. An all action midfielder looking to create and score goals. Or that’s the theory, anyway.

This entry was posted in Northern Leagues United and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

