Why the Northern League Matters to Me #4

As a newcomer to the North, I’m looking forward to this inaugural Northern League Day. I cut my teeth in the Beazer Homes Premier, following Chelmsford City on a succession of doomed assaults on the holy grail of the GM Vauxhall Conference. If the Northern League is half as fun, we’re all in for a cracking day. I spend most of my life reporting on the Premier League and, given the increasingly international focus of the professional game, most of my spare time goes on watching the top divisions overseas. I know, I know. It’s a tough life.

Nevertheless, I can’t wait for a chance to get back and immerse myself in a day of non-league action. Forget all the cliched bobbins about Bovril and knowing all the players’ home phone numbers, it’s not about that. It’s about paying a decent price to see a decent game. It’s about being able to have a decent pint at half-time. It’s about being able to stand up. More than anything, it’s about supporting a team who represent your local community, even if it’s only for one day. And actually, in retrospect, it can be about Bovril too. I love Bovril, me.

For one day, give the top flight a miss and catch a Northern League game.

Iain Macintosh is an acclaimed (not least by us) football writer and author as well as being the Premier League correspondent of the New Paper in Singapore. You can join over 8,000 others in following him on twitter here. He also writes this fantastic blog.

This entry was posted in Northern League Day and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

